News‎ > ‎

Seniors Bounce Back!

posted 2 Aug 2012, 00:37 by Shaun-Marty Lawless

Match Report – Lissummon v Ballyhegan – 1st Aug 2012

Ballyhegan Davitts travelled to Lissummon to take on their fellow league leaders in the first of the second round of fixtures with both teams hoping for an improvement in fortune following early exits from the Junior Championship.

Lissummon scored in the first and second minutes of play before Philip Kelly got Ballyhegan of the mark cooling converting a free won by Michael McKeever after good work from Paddy Marley.  Following a period of scrappy play and a series of wides from both sides, Philip Kelly scored his and Ballyhegan’s second to draw level. A score made all the more impressive as it came off his less favoured right foot. (0:02 0:02).

On the 20 minute mark Lissummon scored a fine point from the left wing before Paddy Marley won and converted a free direct from a giant Jonny McKeever kick out. (0:03 0:03).

Paddy Marley deserved better for the determination he showed to eke out an opportunity on goal albeit from an acute angle. He soon made amends by playing a clever one-two with Philip Kelly who was then taken down inside the square resulting in a penalty. Philip was rightly rewarded for his strong direct running and coolly slotted the ball in to the roof of the net. (0:04 1:03).

In the 30th minute the impressive Paddy Marley converted a free to extend Ballyhegan’s lead to 3 points. (0:04 1:04).

In an attempt to narrow the gap before half time Lissummon pressed hard but could not break down the well organised Ballyhegan defence. The referee sounded the whistle for half time as Paul Courtney once again cleared the danger.  

Half time score Lissummon 0:04 Ballyhegan 1:04

Philip Kelly scored the first point of the second half having been set up nicely by Conor Loughran before Lissummon converted a free. (0:05 1:05).

Two of the three best scores of the game were soon to follow. First Philip Kelly, having won his own ball, gave the opponent’s goalkeeper no chance drilling a shot from distance in to the bottom right corner. (0:05 2:05). Not to be out done by the forwards, John Guy found space and split the posts from long range. (0:05 2:06).

Lissummon registered their second score of the half before Michael McKeever cheekily flicked over an attempt on goal from the ever dangerous Paddy Marley following great work from Sean McNally. (0:06 2:07).

Lissummon scored again, this time from the half way line, before Philip Kelly scored yet again following good work from Plunkett McCormack and Michael McKeever. (0:07 2:08).

Sensing time was running out the home team pushed forward in numbers and began to look dangerous. Having worked the ball up the left side a Lissummon player closed in on goal only for Aidan Kelly to make a brave, crowd pleasing block. This followed by further impressive defensive work from Plunkett McCormack, Sean McNally and Mark McKeever meant Ballyhegan remained 7 points ahead and seemed to take the wind from the host team’s sails.    

Tony Keegan ably slotted in to defence replacing the injured Conor Morgan which allowed Paul Courtney to move in to the middle of the park.

Paddy Marley then extended the lead converting a free won following good work from James McKeever before Michael McKeever registered the last, but arguably the best, score of the game. Under intense pressure from the full back he turned and split the posts with his trusty left from wide on the right.

Final score Lissummon 0:07 Ballyhegan 2:10


Ballyhegan ended the game as deserved winners and now look to consolidate their status as league leaders with a home fixture on Sunday afternoon at home to An Port Mór.

In defence Paul Courtney did not put a foot wrong whilst Sean McNally and Mark McKeever also deserve praise. Conor Morgan and John Guy worked tirelessly against a strong Lissummon midfield whilst in attack Philip Kelly and Paddy Marley continue to thwart opponent’s defences. Daniel and Michael McKeever also performed well and made telling contributions.

Davitts ABU

Ballyhegan Team:

Jonny McKeever, Sean McNally, Paul Courtney, Mark McKeever, Ronan Devlin, Aidan Kelly, Plunkett McCormack, John Guy (0:01), Conor Morgan (Tony Keegan), Daniel McKeever, Philip Kelly (2:04), James McKeever, Conor Loughran, Michael McKeever (0:02), Paddy Marley (0:03)