News‎ > ‎

Senior Men beat Mullaghbawn

posted 25 May 2013, 14:00 by Shaun-Marty Lawless
Ballyhegan Davitts v Mullaghbawn Cúchulainns – 24th May 2013

On Friday evening, in search of their first league points of the campaign, Ballyhegan senior men hosted Mullaghbawn Cúchulainns in round 6 of the Simply Fruit IACFL.

Following Mullaghbawn’s opening score of the game Paddy Marley scored two points, the second following strong work from Paul Courtney at midfield. The visitors then drew level before Shane McCormack was denied a goal by an excellent save for the Mullaghbawn goalkeeper. Ballyhegan then, in the 13th minute, conceded a point and a perfectly executed penalty goal following a scramble in goal mouth – 0:02 / 1:03.

Paddy Marley then converted 2 frees the first won by Jack Wilson following a long kick out from Jonny McKeever and the second as a result of hard work from Gerard Morgan – 0:04 / 1:03.

With Paul Courtney & Jack Wilson dominating midfield and Joey Murphy excelling in a sweeper role Ballyhegan surprisingly conceded 1:03 before half time leaving the score 0:04 to 2:06 at the interval.

Trailing by eight points Ballyhegan had it all to do in the second half and with the visitors dominating the opening exchanges with 2 wides and a converted free it looked ominous for the men in blue. To the credit of all involved Mullaghbawn would only register one more score.

In the 34th minute the impressive Paddy Marley converted a free won by Shane McCormack. A minute later, following a fine field from Jack Wilson, Eoin Reynolds spilt the posts – 0:06 / 2:07. Paul Courtney then scored a point with his less favoured foot before regaining possession and feeding Eoin Reynolds who scored a great point from an acute angle – 0:08 / 2:07.

Mullaghbawn then registered what turned out to be their last score of the game. Paddy Marley then did exceptionally well to convert an opportunity created following determined link play between Ballywilly’s finest – Joey Murphy & Gerard Morgan!

In the 40th minute the impressive Paddy Marley then registered the home sides only goal of the game following good work from Eoin Reynolds who was starting to growing in confidence – 1:09 / 2:08.

Shane McKeever then registered his first score of the game with a sweetly struck shot from long range. Strong yet disciplined tackling from Conor Morgan and Paul Courtney ensured Mullaghbawn could not add to their tally.

Soon after his introduction for Gerard Morgan, James McKeever set up Eoin Reynolds who registered the point of the evening with the outside of his left foot. Soon thereafter Eoin Reynolds split the post again following good work from Conor McCann and Paddy Marley – 1:12 / 2:08.

In what would prove to be his last involvement of the evening due to injury the excellent Paddy Marley doubled Ballyhegan’s lead with a well taken point following a beautifully angled pass from the impressive Jack Wilson. With 4 minutes of normal time remaining our county minor Jack Rafferty entered the fray and played his part in ensuring The Davitts would collect their first points of the campaign.

Shane McCormack worked tirelessly to win a 45 whilst the half back line of Plunkett McCormack, Conor McCann & Conor Loughran worked hard to win an all important free for the home side in a dangerous area. In the second minute of added time Shane McCormack registered the final score of the game – 1:14 / 2:08.  

Congratulations to all involved in what was a great team effort, especially in the second half. Ballyhegan’s midfield dominance laid the foundations for what were eye catching performances from Joey Murphy in defence and Eoin Reynolds in attack. However, special praise must go to the rampant Paddy Marley who finished on 1:07!

With only nine league fixtures remaining lets home this spirited performance proves a catalyst for rest of the season.       

Ballyhegan Team:

Jonny McKeever, Joey Murphy, Conor Morgan, Tony Keegan, Conor Loughran, Plunkett McCormack, Conor McCann, Paul Courtney (0:01), Jack Wilson, Eoin Reynolds (0:04), Conor Williamson, Gerard Morgan (James McKeever 48min), Shane McCormack (0:01), Shane McKeever (0:01), Paddy Marley (1:07) (Jack Rafferty 56min)