News‎ > ‎

Davitts v Clonmore

posted 15 Jul 2016, 07:19 by Ballyhegan Davitts

Thursday 14th July 2016

Ballyhegan Davitts 1-09 Clonmore 2-14

Ballyhegan welcomed their neighbours from Clonmore to Ballyhegan Park, for the first game in the second half of the league after the split.

Clonmore opened the scoring after two minutes with a score from play. Ballyhegan had a chance to equalise soon after but missed and unfortunately, this was the sign of things to come. Clonmore added another point on 8 mins before Shane McKeever got Ballyhegn’s first score of the night. Two more scores for Clonmore stretched their lead and in between them, good work from Roger McCormick in defence stopped a chance on goal. The Davitts pulled another point back with a pointed free from Conal McKeever. But on 17 minutes Clonmore got a goal through James Fox to put them up by 6. Conor Loughran responded with a point for Ballyhegan but James Fox added another point to his tally and Clonmore kicked the last two scores of the half.

Half-Time: Ballyhegan Davitts 0-03 Clonmore 1-08

Clonmore continued where they left off at the start of the second half with a point and a goal, before Conal McKeever got a score for Ballyhegan. Paul Nixon was able to follow this up with a good score of his own after being set-up by James McKeever. Mel Courtney found himself up the field and showed some composure to score a good point and Conal McKeever then score a free during a good spell for Ballyhegan.  But Clonmore hit back with a converted 45 and 3 points within a minute to kill any Ballyhegan hopes of a comeback.

Ballyhegan’s final two scores came from Shane McKeever and James McKeever (free) as Clonmore wrapped up the scoring on 59 mins to leave the final score Ballyhegan 1-09 Clonmore 2-14. This was a disappointing display from Ballyhegan after all the hard work that had went into the previous three games, next league game is away to St Patrick’s Cullyhanna on Sunday 24th July.

The team lined out as follows: J.McKeever (Bart), R.McCormick, M.Courtney, B.Morgan (R.McKeever), C.McGlinchey (P.Marley), S.McKeever (L.McGrane), J.McAtarsney, M.Hughes, C.Loughran, J.McKeever, S.McKeever , D.McKeever , C.McKeever (K.Turbit), P.Nixon, S.McCormack (J.Rafferty, T.Rafferty)