News‎ > ‎

Ballyhegan v Lissan

posted 3 Apr 2015, 06:30 by Jarlath McCann
Friday 27th March 2015
Ballyhegan Davitts v Lissan
Ballyhegan were visited by Lissan on Friday night past, coming all the way from South Derry for what was the Davitt's final pre-season challange match before the league gets underway on Sunday 12th April at home to Crossmaglen IIs.
The home team put in a great first half performance against a physically much bigger side. Smart movement, passing and great energy and effort when out of possession were key to this.
After exchanging early scores, Paul Nixon on target for the Davitts, Ballyhegan raced into a 1-04 to 0-01 lead with scores from Conal McKeever, 2 from Big Conor Williamson and a goal from midfielder Mark Hughes. The visitors hit back with 2 points, 1 from a  free, but this would prove to be their final scores of the half as the hosts finished strong adding another 4 points, Conal McKeever (0-02), Conor Williamson and Paul Nixon all on target again.
Half time: Ballhegan 1-08 - Lissan 0-03
The second half was a much closer affair. Stefan McNally opened the scoring for the hosts soon after the restart but the Derrymen hit back with 3 on the bounce, 2 from frees. Rory McKeever added another for the Davitts followed by a free from Conal McKeever to which Lissan replied with a point of their own almost immeadiately. A minute later Ballyhegan were on the attack again with Thomas Reynolds finding himself infront of goal and he didnt disappoint adding another 3-poiner to the home side's total. The visitors pointed a minute later but Rory McKeever then added the Davitts third goal effectively sealing the match. The lads to their credit didn't slack in the final 10 minutes. Shane McKeever increased the lead with a point but the visitors also stuck to their guns hitting 3 points from play before Conor Williamson closed the scoring with his fourth of the night.
Full time: Ballyhegan 3-13 - Lissan 0-11
Ballyhegan scorers: Conor Williamson 0-04, Conal McKeever 0-04 (2f), Rory McKeever 1-01, Mark Hughes 1-00, Thomas Reynolds 1-00, Paul Nixon 0-02, Stefan McNally 0-01, Shane McKeever 0-01