Strictly Ballyhegan 2015

posted 26 Feb 2015, 06:42 by Jarlath McCann

Ballyhegan Davitts present Strictly Ballyhegan this Saturday 28th February in Armagh City Hotel at 8pm.
A team of 16 brave dancers has been assembled both from within the Club and neighbouring communites to put on a dance extravaganza on Saturday night. They have been in training for this since early November and have given up countless hours both practising and fundraising.
Come out on Saturday night not only to show your support and appreciation for them but for one of the most enjoyable and memorable nights you will have had in a long time!
  • Doors open at 7pm with the show kicking off at 8pm sharp.
  • Each couple will dance a Salsa then come back out again to perform their freestyle dance (a dance of any genre of their choosing).
  • The winners of the Salsa will be decided by our judges and the freestyle winners will be decided by our audience by putting money in the appropriate buckets that will be circulated round the hall after the freestyle dances are finished.
  • There will be a disco after the show has finished (approx 11pm)
Tickets still available from McKeever's Bar, Portadown or contact Jarlath McCann (07842761889) or any dancer or committee member.


GAA Injury Benefit Fund

posted 26 Feb 2015, 06:15 by Jarlath McCann



·         Recent media reports on the Injury Fund highlight the need for clubs, players and members to educate themselves on the purpose, funding, and terms and conditions of the GAA Injury Benefit Fund.

·         The updated summary document on the GAA Injury Benefit Fund can be found on -

·         The GAA Injury Benefit Fund is not insurance. The Injury Benefit Fund is an entirely self-funded benefits cover which is not in place to fully compensate but to supplement other covers such as NHS, Private Health Insurance, employer’s sick pay schemes, etc.

·         Members should not use the fund as their only recourse or be dependent on the fund to compensate them fully for any losses associated with accidental bodily injuries sustained.

·         The Injury Fund is only in place to provide for the reimbursement of otherwise unrecoverable expenses to the benefit limits incurred following accidental bodily injury only.

·         There is no legal obligation on the GAA to provide such a fund. Any person who willingly takes part in sport accepts the risk of injury inherent in participation.

·         It is the responsibility of each individual member to review their own personal circumstances and ensure they have cover in place to meet their own individual needs.

·         This is of particular relevance to players with financial commitments such as mortgages, dependent kin, self-employed persons who do not have access to state benefits and persons employed in roles where no employer’s sick pay scheme exists.

·         In 2014 the fund handled 6,283 claims at a cost of €8.25m. This €8.25m was funded through team subscriptions which contributed €6.14m and was supplemented by a €2.33m contribution from Central Council gate receipts.

·         In addition a further €1m was contributed from Central Council funds to provide for the Injury Fund Reward Rebate of €600,000 and to cover the administration and audit costs of operating the fund.

·         Willis are not the insurers of the Injury Fund; the injury fund is not insurance. Willis are the appointed administrators of the fund. Willis administers the fund on behalf of and on the instruction of the GAA.

·         The National Risk and Insurance Committee as appointed by the Uachtarain and ratified by Ard Comhairle is the committee with responsibility for the administration and validation of the fund on behalf of the Association.

·          The terms and conditions of the fund are under constant review and it is an annual challenge to maintain the fund’s viability.

Membership Packages

posted 29 Jan 2015, 14:41 by Jarlath McCann

Please see attached poster providing details of our club packages. I would appeal to you all to consider signing up to one of our monthly scheme options. This is a great scheme with financial incentives for you and which will also relieve the burden of collection from our small band of club administrators. Standing order forms will be available at the Registration night on Friday. If you want to sign up please bring along your personal and bank account details.

We will be advertising our official O’Neills club gear on Friday but a separate night will be held to take orders. Details of when that will be will follow in due course. 

There will also be a representative from Gaelic Performance there on Friday to take orders for gum shields and gloves.

Looking forward to seeing you all on Friday at the clubrooms, 7.30pm sharp.

Gaelic Performance

posted 29 Jan 2015, 14:18 by Jarlath McCann

See poster below from Gaelic Performance showing products they will have on offer at our registration night.

Registration Night

posted 26 Jan 2015, 10:37 by Jarlath McCann   [ updated 27 Jan 2015, 05:28 ]

Registration Night takes place this Friday. Anyone who wants to be a member or play at any level (including senior reserves) must come along and register on the night.

Strictly Ballyhegan

posted 26 Jan 2015, 10:33 by Jarlath McCann

Tickets now on sale from all dancers, committee members and in McKeever's Bar, Portadown

Strictly Come Dancing

posted 5 Dec 2014, 11:02 by Jarlath McCann

Keep Saturday 28th February free in your diaries folks as Ballyhegan Davitts present Strictly Come Dancing for the second time! Following our successful night 6 years ago (yes, six!!!), we are planning an even bigger and better experience this time round. We are holding it in the Armagh City Hotel and will have tickets on sale (priced £20 each) before Christmas (keep an eye on Facebook/website/local press). This promises to be an extremely memorable and enjoyable night so get your tickets early!

Senior Management

posted 5 Dec 2014, 10:15 by Jarlath McCann

We are happy to announce that our Senior men's team will be managed by Joe McGrane for the 2015 season. The committee would like to take this opportunity to wish Joe all the best and every success over the coming season and once again thank the outgoing management team of Seamus McCann and Plunkett McCormack for their efforts.

Our Senior ladies team will be managed by Paul Doherty along with Gerard O'Hagan. Similarly, we want to wish the lads all the best for the coming season and thank out outgoing management team of Mark Hughes and Eoin Reynolds.


posted 17 Nov 2014, 15:29 by Jarlath McCann

See poster below with details of an exciting new fitness class in the Club over winter.

Club Mugs

posted 5 Nov 2014, 14:52 by Jarlath McCann   [ updated 5 Nov 2014, 15:01 ]

Ballyhegan branded Club mugs are available to order now. They would be an ideal stocking filler coming up to Christmas or just a nice keepsake to have in the house. They are priced at £6 each or 2 for £10. To secure yours, contact Jarlath McCann on 07842761889. Hurry as they are running out fast!

1-10 of 291